Beste Reisezeit Utah

Lower Calf Creek Falls

Die Wanderung ist den schönen Anblick des kaskadierenden Wasserfalls und des erfrischenden Tauchens nachher wert

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert: durch Olha Savych
reason default image
Alles anschauen
Siehe Unterkünfte in der Nähe

Die Lower Calf Creek Falls bilden einen Teil des mehrjährigen Calf Creek Falls, der 65 Meter (65 Meter) durch den Canyon im Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument, Süd-Utah, schneidet. Die untere Ebene ist viel beliebter als die obere durch einen längeren Rückgang von 126 Fuß (38 m), besseren Zugang und leichtere Wanderung. Darüber hinaus taucht der Strom in ein kristallklares, schattiges Schwimmloch, oft mit Nebel bedeckt und angenehm kühl auch an den heißesten Tagen.

Wann ist der beste Zeitpunkt, um Lower Calf Creek Falls zu besuchen?

Die beste Jahreszeit bei Lower Calf Creek Falls ist Frühling und Herbst aufgrund angenehmer Temperaturen und moderater Menschenmengen. Das beste Licht für die Fotografie ist zwischen 10 und 14 Uhr wegen der Canyon-Wände. Trotz heißem Wetter ist der Sommer immer noch die Lieblingssaison, so dass die Leute ein erfrischendes Bad am Wasserfall-Basis zu schätzen wissen. Wenn Sie Sommer wählen, besuchen Sie Mitte Woche, für Wochenenden sind jam-packed. Der Lower Calf Creek Falls Trail ist ganzjährig zugänglich, und der Wasserfall fließt die ganze Zeit, so dass der Winter auch eine Option. Aber vielleicht müssen Sie Mikrospikes an einigen Abschnitten tragen, wenn Sie in der kalten Jahreszeit wandern.

Wie kommt man nach Lower Calf Creek Falls?

Der Wasserfall wird durch den Lower Calf Creek Falls Trail erreicht, der am Calf Creek Campground auf Utah Scenic Byway 12 beginnt. Die Autobahn liegt 18 km südlich von Boulder und 24 km östlich von Escalante. Die 6-Meilen (10-km) Out-and-back-Wanderung entlang des Calf Creek erfordert je nach Tempo 3 bis 4 Stunden zum Wandern. Auch wenn der Weg relativ flach ist, machen sandige Abschnitte es mäßig schwierig,. Beachten Sie, dass die Wanderung neben Naturlandschaften mit Piktographen und Überresten eines Getreidespeichers der Anasazi-Indianer auf dem Weg zu sehen ist.

Aktivitäten bei Lower Calf Creek Falls

Das erste, was Sie wahrscheinlich tun wollen, wie Sie die Website zu erreichen ist, um Ihren Kopf bis an die Spitze des Wasserfalls zu kranen und das mächtige Spray des Wassers auf Ihrem Gesicht fühlen. Nun, Kinder werden in den Pool geradeaus eilen. Ziehen Sie also Ihre Badeanzüge an, bevor Sie zur Wanderung aufbrechen. Danach können Sie ein Picknick an der Seite der Lower Calf Creek Falls genießen und die gleiche Art und Weise, wie Sie hierher kamen zurück. Auch möchten Sie sich vielleicht mit einer weiteren Wanderung zu den Upper Calf Creek Falls herausfordern oder sich The Hogback anschauen, ein ausgezeichneter Aussichtspunkt, der in der Nähe des Highways 12 liegt.

Wo übernachten Sie in Lower Calf Creek Falls?

Die beste Wahl wäre Calf Creek Campground mit 13 Campingplätzen, einem Picknick-Tag und einem Trailhead. Wenn möglich, kommen Sie früh dorthin, da das Campen zuerst zuerst serviert wird, und das Parken ist begrenzt. Auch, wenn Sie mehr in Hotels sind, studieren Sie die Unterkunft Optionen auf der Lower Calf Creek Falls Karte unten.

Praktische Infos

How long does it take to hike Lower Calf Creek Falls?

About 3 to 4 hours

Can you swim in Lower Calf Creek Falls?

Yes, you can plunge into a refreshing swimming hole below the waterfall.

How do I get to Calf Creek Falls?

By the Lower Calf Creek Falls Trail, which starts at the Calf Creek Campground on Highway 12. That's 11 miles (18 km) south of Boulder, and 15 miles (24 km) east of Escalante.

Why is Escalante called the Grand Staircase?

For the series of topographic rock formations which progressively rise in elevation from south to north resembling staircase.

Eine Frage stellen

Finde Hotels und Airbnbs in der Nähe von Lower Calf Creek Falls (Karte)

Best time to travel to Utah

Lower Calf Creek Falls

The hike is well worth the beautiful sight of a cascading waterfall and some refreshing diving afterward

Share

Last updated: by Olha Savych
reason default image
See all
See accommodations nearby

Lower Calf Creek Falls makes up a part of perennial Calf Creek Falls slicing 214 feet (65 m) through the canyon in Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument, Southern Utah. The lower tier is much more popular than the upper one due to a longer drop of 126 feet (38 m), better access, and easier hike. Moreover, the stream plunges into a crystal clear, shady swimming hole, often shrouded with mist and pleasantly cool even on the hottest days.

When is the best time to visit Lower Calf Creek Falls?

The best time of year at Lower Calf Creek Falls is spring and fall due to comfortable temperatures and moderate crowds. The best light for photography is between 10 am and 2 pm because of the canyon walls. Despite hot weather, summer is still the favored season, allowing the folks to fully appreciate a refreshing dip at the waterfall base. If you choose summertime, visit mid-week, for weekends are jam-packed. Also, bring sufficient water with you. Lower Calf Creek Falls Trail is accessible year-round, and the waterfall flows all the time, making winter an option too. However, you might need to wear anti-slip gear at some parts if you hike during the cold season.

How to get to Lower Calf Creek Falls?

The waterfall is reached by the Lower Calf Creek Falls Trail, which starts at the Calf Creek Campground on Utah Scenic Byway 12. The highway sits 11 miles (18 km) south of Boulder and 15 miles (24 km) east of Escalante. The 6-mile (10-km) out-and-back hike along Calf Creek requires 3 to 4 hours to trek, depending on your pace. Even though the trail is relatively flat, sandy sections make it moderately difficult to complete. Note that besides nature sceneries, the hike features pictographs and remains of an Anasazi Indians granary that is quite noticeable along the trail.

Things to do at Lower Calf Creek Falls

The first thing you'll probably want to do as you reach the site is to crane your head up to the top of the waterfall and feel the mighty spray of the water on your face. Well, kids go ahead kids and rush straight into the pool! So put on your swimming apparel before you set off for the hike. Afterwards, you can enjoy a picnic at the side of the Lower Calf Creek Falls and return the same way you came there. Also, you might want to challenge yourself with another hike to the Upper Calf Creek Falls or check out The Hogback, an excellent vista point nestled nearby along Highway 12.

Where to stay at Lower Calf Creek Falls?

The best choice would be Calf Creek Campground offering 13 camping sites, a day-use picnic area, and a trailhead. When possible, get there early, since camping is on first come first served basis, and parking is limited as well. Also, if you're more into hotels, then please get familiarized with the lodging options on the Lower Calf Creek Falls map below.

Practical info

How long does it take to hike Lower Calf Creek Falls?

About 3 to 4 hours

Can you swim in Lower Calf Creek Falls?

Yes, you can plunge into a refreshing swimming hole below the waterfall.

How do I get to Calf Creek Falls?

By the Lower Calf Creek Falls Trail, which starts at the Calf Creek Campground on Highway 12. That's 11 miles (18 km) south of Boulder, and 15 miles (24 km) east of Escalante.

Why is Escalante called the Grand Staircase?

For the series of topographic rock formations which progressively rise in elevation from south to north resembling staircase.

Ask a question