Quand partir à Hawaï

Shinnyo Lantern Floating Hawaï 2021

Une coutume bouddhiste touchante attire des milliers de participants à Honolulu

Partager

Dernière mise à jour:
reason default image
Voir tout

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19 concerns, many events might be canceled, postponed, or changed into limited versions, sometimes at very short notice. Please check with event organizers directly for the latest updates (view the "External Resources" section below).

Chaque année jusqu'à 40 000 Hawaïens et touristes se réunissent au parc Ala Moana Beach à Honolulu pour participer au Shinnyo Lantern Floating Hawaï. Organisé depuis 1999, il s'agissait du premier festival de lanterne Shinnyo-en tenu en dehors du Japon. Son objectif est de commémorer les êtres chers et de créer de l'espoir pour l'avenir. Le festival de la lanterne flottante est accompagné de musique japonaise et hawaïenne. Vous pouvez regarder cette belle tradition à distance ou participer en flottant votre lanterne personnelle. Ceux qui ont assisté à cet événement le décrivent comme une expérience puissante et intrinsèque.

La cérémonie a lieu à l'occasion du Jour du souvenir, où les gens se souviennent et honorent les militaires et les femmes qui ont donné leur vie pour leur pays. En Hawaï, en ce jour, les gens mettent souvent des fleurs et des offrandes sur les tombes des proches qui ont servi dans l'armée ainsi que ceux d'autres qui sont passés. La cérémonie de lanterne flottante d'Hawaii a été initiée par Shinso Ito, prêtre en chef de Shinnyo-en, en 1999. Au début, la cérémonie a eu lieu à la lagune Ke'ehi, sur la rive sud d'O'ahu. Cependant, en 2002, l'événement a été déménagé sur la côte à Ala Moana Beach.

La cérémonie commence toujours avec la coquille de conche de Pū ou d'Hawaii. C'est un signal traditionnel pour le peuple hawaïen qui rassemble la communauté et informe sur le début de l'importante cérémonie.

Rechercher des hôtels et des airbnbs à proximité de Shinnyo Lantern Floating Hawaï (carte)

Best time to go to Hawaii

Shinnyo Lantern Floating Hawaii 2021

A touching Buddhist custom attracts thousands of participants in Honolulu

Share

Last updated:
reason default image
See all

Disclaimer: Due to COVID-19 concerns, many events might be canceled, postponed, or changed into limited versions, sometimes at very short notice. Please check with event organizers directly for the latest updates (view the "External Resources" section below).

Every year up to 40,000 Hawaiians and tourists gather at Ala Moana Beach Park in Honolulu to participate in the Shinnyo Lantern Floating Hawaii. Held since 1999, it was the first Shinnyo-en lantern festival held outside of Japan. Its goal is to commemorate loved ones and create hope for the future. The floating lantern festival is accompanied by Japanese and Hawaiian music. You can watch this beautiful tradition from a distance or participate by floating your personal lantern. Those who attended this event describe it as a powerful and enl​igh​tening experience.

The ceremony is held on the occasion of Memorial Day, when people remember and honor servicemen and women who gave their lives for their country. In Hawai‘i, on this day people often put flowers and offerings on gravesites of loved ones who served in the army as well as those of others who have passed. The Lantern Floating Hawaii ceremony was initiated by Shinso Ito, Head Priest of Shinnyo-en, in 1999. At first, the ceremony was held at Ke'ehi Lagoon on the south shore of O'ahu. However, in 2002, the event was moved down the coast to Ala Moana Beach.

The ceremony always starts with Pū or Hawaiian conch shell. This is a traditional signal for Hawaii people that gathers the community together and informs about the commencement of the important ceremony.

Find hotels and airbnbs near Shinnyo Lantern Floating Hawaii (Map)