Beste Reisezeit Estland

Vogelbeobachtung während der Massen-Vogel-Migration

Tausende von Vögeln kommen Mitte Mai zu Estlands Wiesen, Sümpfen und Inseln

Teilen

reason default image
Alles anschauen

Estland gibt dir die Chance, eine spektakuläre massive Vogelwanderung zu beobachten. Ihre Position liegt an der Kreuzung eines großen Zugflugwegs zwischen Brut- und Überwinterungsgebieten für Millionen von arktischen Wasservögeln. Die Estnischen Inseln sind perfekte Futterstationen

Vögel können von Anfang April bis Oktober beobachtet werden, aber Mitte Mai gilt als die beste Zeit für Vogelbeobachtung. Während dieser Zeit können Sie die größte Vielfalt der Vogelarten möglich sehen. Wenn Sie jedoch Schutzgebiete vom 15. April bis 15. Juli besuchen möchten, benötigen Sie eine besondere Genehmigung.

Sie können die Scarlet Rose Finch, Honey Buzzards, White-tailed und Lesser Spotted Eagles, Montagu's Harriers, Great Snipes, Black Stork und viele andere beobachten. Estnische Küsten bringen eine große Anzahl von Seevögeln zusammen, bevor sie starten. Hunderttausende von Enten, Gänsen, Schwänen und Millionen von Scoters und Langschwanz-Enten halten hier an, um sich vor einer langen Reise zu ihren arktischen Brutplätzen zu ernähren und auszuruhen.

Im Herbst, von September bis Oktober, können Sie die massive arktische Wasservögel Migration beobachten. Es gibt Ihnen die Chance, so seltene Vögel wie den Weißschnabeltaucher oder den Grauen Phalarope zu sehen. Viele andere wie Brambling Leute, Goldcrests, Long-tailed und Willow Tits, Red-throated Diver, Greater Scaup, Bent Geese und Velvet Scoter passieren auch Estland in der ersten Septemberwoche.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to travel to Estonia

Birdwatching during Mass Bird Migration

Thousands of birds come to Estonia's meadows, bogs, and islands in mid-May

Birdwatching during Mass Bird Migration in Estonia - Best Time
Photo by

© Mait Jüriado

Estonia gives you the chance to observe a spectacular massive bird migration. Its position lies on the crossroads of a major migratory flyway, between breeding and wintering areas for millions of Arctic waterbirds. The Estonian islands are perfect feeding stopover sites.

White-backed Woodpecker
White-backed Woodpecker

Birds can be observed from early April till October but mid-May is considered to be the best time for bird-watching. During this period you can see the greatest diversity of bird species possible. However, if you wish to visit protected areas from April 15 to July 15 you'll need a special permit.

Barnacle Geese
Barnacle Geese

You can observe the Scarlet Rose Finch, Honey Buzzards, White-tailed and Lesser Spotted Eagles, Montagu's Harriers, Great Snipes, Black Stork, and many others. Estonian coasts bring together a large number of seabirds before they take off. Hundreds of thousands of ducks, geese, swans, and millions of Scoters and Long-tailed Ducks stop here to feed and rest before a long trip to their arctic breeding grounds.

Goldcrest
Goldcrest

In autumn, from September to October, you can observe the massive arctic waterfowl migration. It gives you the chance to see such rare birds as the White-billed Diver or the Grey Phalarope. Lots of others like Brambling folks, Goldcrests, Long-tailed and Willow Tits, Red-throated Diver, Greater Scaup, Bent Geese, and Velvet Scoter also pass through Estonia during the first week of September.

Montague's Harrier
Montague's Harrier
Penduline Tit nest building
Penduline Tit nest building
Willow Tit
Willow Tit
Seagull looking over City. More of a bird watching you than you watching a bird.
Seagull looking over City. More of a bird watching you than you watching a bird.
Check best times to visit
Estonia