Beste Reisezeit Tenerife

Semana Santa & Ostern 2021

Die "Penitenten" in spitze Hauben, barfuß "Nazarener", und religiöse Statuen übernehmen die Straßen für eine Woche von feierlichen Prozessionen

Teilen

Zuletzt aktualisiert:
reason default image
Alles anschauen

Haftungsausschluss: Aufgrund von COVID-19 Bedenken können viele Ereignisse abgesagt, verschoben oder in limitierte Versionen geändert werden, manchmal sehr kurzfristig. Bitte überprüfen Sie bei den Veranstaltern direkt die neuesten Updates.

Semana Santa (Heilige Woche) wird auf den Kanarischen Inseln seit dem Mittelalter gefeiert. Die größte Insel Teneriffas ist keine Ausnahme, und ihre historischen Städte sehen unzählige religiöse Zeremonien und Straßenzüge während der Woche, die zu Ostern führen. Die Feier beginnt am Palmsonntag und geht weiter bis zum Ostertag. Während der feierlichen Zeit, haben die meisten Gemeinden mindestens eine tägliche Prozession mit einem Gottesdienst. Aber der bemerkenswerteste Tag ist der Karfreitag, der an den Tod und das Begräbnis Jesu Christi erinnert.

Prozessionen der Karwoche

Die denkwürdigsten Prozessionen umfassen Mitglieder verschiedener religiöser Bruderschaften. Die ikonischen "Penitents" tragen lange Mäntel mit spitzen Kapuzen, die ihr Gesicht vollständig bedecken und nur ihre Augen offenbaren. Andere Teilnehmer der feierlichen Paraden sind "Nazarenos", die typischerweise barfuß gehen und Fesseln oder große Holzkreuze tragen. Auch ist es üblich, riesige Schwimmer mit schweren religiösen Statuen durch die Straßen von Dutzenden von Menschen Parade. Die Paraden machen schmerzhaft langsame Fortschritte, traditionell begleitet von düsterer religiöser Musik durch eine Blaskapelle.

Wo findet die Karwoche auf Teneriffa statt?

Die aufwendigsten Semana Santa Festlichkeiten finden in den authentischen Städten der Insel statt, nämlich in Güímar, La Orotava, Garachico, Candelaria, Los Realejos, Puerto de la Cruz und der Hauptstadt Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Die berühmteste Feier findet in San Cristóbal de la Laguna statt, dem religiösen Zentrum von Teneriffa und UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Stille Prozession in La Laguna

Die besondere Gelegenheit, die man in La Laguna nicht verpassen sollte, ist die Karfreitag-Abendprozession — Procesion del Silencio oder die Stille Prozession. Die Stadt geht völlig ruhig, Straßenlichter abgeschaltet, und die Stadt ist nur von Kerzen beleuchtet. Die fromme Bruderschaftsparade fährt gegen 21:30 Uhr von der Iglesia de la Concepción ab. Ein langsames Tempo, das von einem ominösen Drumbeat gesetzt wird, erzeugt eine bewegende und ein wenig störende Atmosphäre, die Sie nie vergessen werden.

Ostersonntag

Der Ostersonntag bringt die Freude der Auferstehung und, naja, viel Essen. Die Fastenzeit ist vorbei, so dass Familien feiern mit lokalen Köstlichkeiten wie Sancocho (gesalzenen Fisch mit Kartoffeln serviert), Gofio (traditionelle Getreide) und Mojo, Signatur kanarischen Soße.

Praktische Infos

Eine Frage stellen

Best time to go to Tenerife

Semana Santa & Easter 2024

The "penitents" in pointed hoods, barefoot "Nazarenes", and religious statues take over the streets for a week of solemn processions

Dates: March 24–29, 2024

Semana Santa & Easter
Semana Santa & Easter
Semana Santa & Easter
Semana Santa & Easter
Semana Santa & Easter

Semana Santa, or Easter, is one of the most important and profoundly ingrained religious holidays in Spain. Religious brotherhoods carry elaborate processions with well constructed floats that depict biblical themes through the streets as a way for communities to honor the Passion of Christ. During Easter, you can often see locals wearing traditional clothing and listening to melancholic music. Semana Santa is especially well-known for its majesty and seriousness in places like Seville, Malaga, and Toledo, attracting tourists from all over the world to see the show.

Celebrations in Tenerife

The largest island of Tenerife is no exception to Spain's celebrations, and its historical cities see countless religious ceremonies and street processions throughout the week leading to Easter. The celebration starts on Palm Sunday and continues to Easter Day. During the season, most congregations have at least one daily procession with a church service. But, the most remarkable day is Good Friday commemorating the death and burial of Jesus Christ.

Traditional Easter foods

Easter customs in Tenerife feature a range of diverse Canarian and Spanish culinary traditions. One of them is "potaje de vigilia," a filling stew made with potatoes, veggies, chickpeas, and codfish. This meal is well-known specifically for adhering to the Lenten diet restrictions by omitting meat. In addition to savory dishes, "torrijas" have also become a popular Easter delicacy. They are essentially French toast made with bread pieces dipped in sugar, milk, and eggs, fried, and frequently spiced with cinnamon and honey.

Holy Week processions

The most memorable processions involve members of different religious brotherhoods. The iconic "penitents" wearing long cloaks with pointed hoods that totally cover their faces and revealing only their eyes. Other participants of solemn parades are "Nazarenos", who typically walk barefoot and carry shackles or large wooden crosses. Also, it's common to parade huge floats with heavy religious statues through the streets by dozens of people. The parades make painfully slow progress, traditionally accompanied with sombre religious music by a brass band.

Where to see Holy Week celebrations in Tenerife

The most elaborate Semana Santa festivities take place in the authentic towns of the island, namely in Güímar, La Orotava, Garachico, Candelaria, Los Realejos, Puerto de la Cruz, and the capital city of Santa Cruz de Tenerife. The most famous celebration is observed in San Cristóbal de la Laguna, the religious centre of Tenerife and UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Silent Procession in La Laguna

The very special occasion not to miss in La Laguna is its Good Friday evening procession — Procesion del Silencio or the Silent Procession. The town goes completely quiet, street lights shut down, and the town is illuminated solely by candles. The pious brotherhood parade departs at around 9:30 pm from the Iglesia de la Concepción. A slow pace set by an ominous drumbeat creates a moving and a bit unnerving atmosphere you are never going to forget.

Easter Sunday

Easter Sunday brings the joy of Resurrection and, well, lots of food. Lent is over, so families celebrate with local delicacies like sancocho (salted fish served with potatoes), gofio (traditional grain) and mojo, signature Canarian sauce.

Last updated: by Eleonora Provozin